French Cuisine: 5 Must-Have Ingredients!

At Bistro 4 Saisons, we specialize in simple, refined fare, influenced strongly by French cuisine.

So what exactly do we mean by French cuisine? Croissants, baguettes, wine and cheese to be sure, but besides those, what should you stock your pantry with to create the kind of dishes associated with France?

The following five ingredients—typically found in the average French kitchen—are a good start!

Serveur qui tient une bouteille de vin

Dijon Mustard

We’re not talking about the kind of mustard on a hot dog served at a baseball stadium. The French go for Dijon mustard, an altogether darker, tastier and more versatile ingredient. Add a spoonful or two to a salad dressing, a sauce, or a dip to create a tangy seasoning bursting with flavour! Dijon mustard enhances a sandwich too.

Fleur de Sel

Nearly everybody has salt in their pantry, but fleur de sel is very different from run-of-the-mill table salt. Crunchier than fine sea salt, fleur de sel is a “finishing salt”, sprinkled on food just before serving.

Where to find it? You can source something similar from Sel Saint-Laurent, the first company in Quebec to produce salt flakes from the sea. Harvested from the Upper North Shore region of the St. Lawrence River, this refined, crunchy salt can be used in the same manner as fleur de sel.

Sel Saint-Laurent

©Sel Saint-Laurent

Crème Fraîche

To thicken a sauce, vinaigrette or stew, the French love to add a large spoonful of fresh cream. Crème fraîche can also be used as a topping for a fruit salad or a chocolate cake, as well as the “secret” ingredient for creating the perfect quiche or omelette!

Herbes de Provence

French dishes give off wonderful aromas, thanks to the liberal use of fresh and/or dried herbs. One of the most popular blends is probably the famous Herbes de Provence. You can buy the mix, ready-made, at the grocery store or put one together yourself. Herbs from your vegetable garden—thyme, oregano, rosemary, savory—can be dried and added to soups, vinaigrettes, marinades, etc.

Butter

Preferably salted butter! The French love butter and they slather it on baguettes and sandwiches. Take the popular jambon-beurre. Basically, it’s just a baguette sliced open, spread with butter and slices of ham… Simple as that!

These five ingredients are by no means an exhaustive list. There are lots of other popular foods associated with French cuisine—truffles, shallots, pickles, plain yogourt (to name a few).

Serveur qui tient une planche de charcuterie & fromage

Have you worked up an appetite now? If so, we’ll be happy to welcome you to Bistro 4 Saisons! We’ll take you on a culinary journey to France, through our tasty menu and our wine list featuring a number of French vintages.

Other news

July 05 2024

Reinventing the Classic Sunday Brunch

The weekend is a time to relax and to have fun and of course, eat well! Instead of grabbing lunch in the middle of a…

Read more →
April 23 2024

Four Prime Venues for Birdwatching in the Eastern Townships

Picture the scene. After a good night’s sleep in your comfy room at Espace 4 Saisons, the sun is kissing you awake so you decide…

Read more →
April 10 2024

Insider Tips From the Team at Bistro 4 Saisons

No one knows the Eastern Townships region better than the employees of Bistro 4 Saisons! After all, this beautiful area is where they live, work…

Read more →
Book now

Reserve here

5 ingrédients coup de cœur de la cuisine française

Au Bistro 4 Saisons, on vous propose une cuisine simple et raffinée aux influences françaises.

Quand on vous dit cuisine française, vous pensez à quoi? Certainement aux croissants, à la baguette de pain, au vin et aux fromages… Cependant, outre ces aliments phares, sauriez-vous comment remplir votre garde-manger comme le font les Français?

Il y a de ces ingrédients qui se retrouvent à coup sûr dans les cuisines des ménages français. En voici quelques-uns.

Serveur qui tient une bouteille de vin

Moutarde de Dijon

Ne parlez pas de « moutarde baseball » aux Français : ils ne jurent que par la moutarde de Dijon, plus foncée, plus goûteuse et ô combien versatile. Suffit d’en ajouter une cuillère ou deux dans une vinaigrette, une marinade ou une trempette pour créer une sauce savoureuse et relevée. Également excellente dans un sandwich!

Fleur de sel

Tout le monde a du sel dans son garde-manger, mais de la fleur de sel, c’est une tout autre chose! Plus croquante que le sel de mer fin, on l’ajoute en finition d’un plat pour en garder la texture.

Envie de locavoriser cet ingrédient? Mettez la main sur du sel Saint-Laurent, le premier québécois sur le marché. Ses flocons de sel, extraits du fleuve Saint-Laurent à la hauteur de la Côte-Nord, ressemblent à de la fleur de sel. C’est croquant, légèrement salé et absolument raffiné.

Sel Saint-Laurent

©Sel Saint-Laurent

Crème fraîche

Pour épaissir une sauce, une vinaigrette ou un mijoté, les Français adorent ajouter une grosse cuillérée de crème fraîche. Vous la verrez aussi parfois servie sur une salade de fruits frais ou un gâteau au chocolat. C’est aussi l’ingrédient secret d’une quiche ou d’une omelette réussies!

Herbes de Provence

Les recettes françaises sont hyper fragrantes, et ce, grâce à l’ajout d’herbes fraîches et séchées. Un des mélanges les plus populaires est probablement celui des fameuses herbes de Provence. On peut acheter le mélange tout fait à l’épicerie ou le faire soi-même, si on a fait sécher nos herbes du jardin. On y mettra donc du thym, de l’origan, du romarin et de la sarriette. À ajouter dans ses soupes, ses vinaigrettes, en marinade, etc.

Beurre

Et salé, de préférence! Les Français aiment leur beurre et en tartinent généreusement sur leur baguette ou dans leurs sandwichs. On n’a qu’à penser au fameux jambon beurre, dont la recette est toute simple : un pain baguette, du beurre et du jambon blanc. Voilà, c’est tout!

Parmi les autres ingrédients qu’on aurait pu ajouter à cette liste non exhaustive, on pense entre autres à la truffe, aux échalotes, aux cornichons, au yogourt nature…

Serveur qui tient une planche de charcuterie & fromage

Avez-vous faim, maintenant? Passez nous voir au Bistro 4 Saisons, où il nous fera plaisir de vous faire voyager jusqu’en France grâce aux plats savoureux de notre menu et la carte des vins remplie de cuvées françaises.

Autres actualités

15 septembre 2023

Agrotourisme des récoltes : des producteurs régionaux à visiter

Les derniers beaux jours de l’été sont comptés, mais ceux-ci annoncent aussi la saison des récoltes! Entre amis, en famille ou en couple, on se…

Lire plus →
02 août 2023

Cinq questions à Patrick Grieve, sommelier au Bistro 4 Saisons

Cinq questions à Patrick Grieve, sommelier au Bistro 4 Saisons Patrick Grieve partage avec vous chaque soir sa passion pour le monde du vin. Il…

Lire plus →
04 juillet 2023

Petit guide pour une randonnée d’été réussie

Petit guide pour une randonnée d’été réussie Quand est venu le temps de ranger ses skis, raquettes et patins, cela veut dire que la saison…

Lire plus →
© 2023  Espace 4 Saisons - Tous droits réservés
Réserver

Réservez ici