Tips for Summer Hiking

Now that you’ve stored your skis, snowshoes, and skates, it’s time to get out your walking boots. The summer season has finally arrived! Leave your luggage at Espace 4 Saisons and head for the hiking trails. The resort is a stone’s throw from Mont Orford National Park and only a couple of minutes from some of the Eastern Townships’ most beautiful outdoor attractions.

The following is a brief guide to enjoying a summer hike to the max! By preparing a few things in advance before you tackle the trails, you can concentrate on absorbing the beauty and tranquility of the natural surroundings.

©Sépaq

What to Put In Your Backpack

Always make sure your water bottle remains topped up and that you take along plenty of nutritious snacks (pack more than you think you’ll need, just in case!) The important thing is to decide whether you’re going to take a long or a short walk. That’ll give you a rough idea of how much food and drink to prepare beforehand.

Although trees provide some shade when hiking through the woods, you should also cover yourself with sunscreen and wear a head covering and sunglasses. Packing a small bottle of insect repellent is a good idea as well!

©Mont-Orford

Even if it’s hot, bring a windbreaker, preferably waterproof. In the mountains, the weather can change very quickly, and you could encounter a sudden downpour! If you have space left in your backpack, you might want to add a foil blanket to keep you warm in case of inclement weather.

A mini first aid kit could come in handy too. You can find one at a pharmacy or a sports/outdoor store, or alternately just create your own.

Before you head out, make sure that your cellphone is fully charged! Using it as a GPS uses up a lot of power. Otherwise, bring along a compass and a trail map.

Where to Walk

Mount Orford, which is very close to Espace 4 Saisons, is of course, one of the best places to hike in the Townships. Walking circuits, boardwalks, lookout points and breathtaking views await—the perfect “recipe” for a great outdoor experience. Check out the trail map and get ready for a wonderful outdoor adventure!   

Wanting to walk with the family? If so, head for the Marais de la Rivière-aux-Cerises in Magog, where you’ll find five kilometres of trails. Some are boardwalks, others are gravel, but they are all easy and can be negotiated by people of all ages and levels of ability. Incidentally, the Magog marsh is crossed by the longest stretch of raised boardwalk in Quebec—1.2km!

©Marais de la Rivière aux Cerises

Interested in exploring other areas in the region that offer great hiking? Check out the Eastern Townships Tourism website, where you will find trails in the following regions: Orford, Bromont, Coaticook, Lac-Mégantic, Sherbrooke, Granby, and more…

Recharge Your Batteries

After a day of physical activity, you’ll probably want to rest your body to ensure that you aren’t left with aching muscles! First stop—the jacuzzi and indoor/outdoor swimming pool at Espace 4 Saisons. Unwind while taking in the splendid mountain view…

Feeling in need of pampering? Well then, head for the Dôme de Morphée aesthetic spa. It’s located within the hotel complex, and you can book a relaxing massage (your tight muscles will appreciate that!) or an exfoliating treatment. In next to no time, you’ll be ready to take to the trails once again!

Inspiration for Another Hike

Spectacular images of beautiful landscapes on social media are guaranteed to make you want to get back out in the fresh air! Check the Mel Bertrand, 4000hikes and Mont-Orford accounts for inspiration.

Other news

July 05 2024

Reinventing the Classic Sunday Brunch

The weekend is a time to relax and to have fun and of course, eat well! Instead of grabbing lunch in the middle of a…

Read more →
April 23 2024

Four Prime Venues for Birdwatching in the Eastern Townships

Picture the scene. After a good night’s sleep in your comfy room at Espace 4 Saisons, the sun is kissing you awake so you decide…

Read more →
April 10 2024

Insider Tips From the Team at Bistro 4 Saisons

No one knows the Eastern Townships region better than the employees of Bistro 4 Saisons! After all, this beautiful area is where they live, work…

Read more →
Book now

Reserve here

Petit guide pour une randonnée d’été réussie

Quand est venu le temps de ranger ses skis, raquettes et patins, cela veut dire que la saison de la randonnée d’été est enfin arrivée! L’hôtel Espace 4 Saisons, situé au pied du mont Orford et à seulement quelques minutes des plus beaux attraits plein air de la région, est l’endroit idéal pour poser ses bagages avant de partir explorer les sentiers des Cantons-de-l’Est.

C’est pourquoi on vous propose un petit guide pour prévoir tout le matériel nécessaire à votre sortie afin de ne rien manquer une fois sur place. Ainsi préparés, il ne vous restera qu’à profiter pleinement du calme et de la beauté de la nature!

©Sépaq

Quoi mettre dans son sac

Ayez toujours une bouteille d’eau bien remplie ainsi que des collations nutritives. Déterminez si vous ferez une longue ou une courte randonnée. De cette façon, vous saurez la quantité de denrées que vous devez mettre dans votre sac à dos. Pensez tout de même à en prendre en extra, au cas où.

Malgré la couverture contre le soleil qu’offrent les arbres en forêt, il est primordial d’avoir sur soi de la crème solaire ainsi qu’un chapeau ou une casquette et des lunettes soleil. De plus, n’oubliez surtout pas de glisser une petite bouteille de chasse-moustiques dans vos affaires!

©Mont-Orford

Même s’il fait très chaud, apportez un manteau de style coupe-vent imperméable. La météo peut changer rapidement et parfois, elle n’est tout simplement pas la même en montagne. Mieux vaut prévoir en cas d’averse soudaine. Il vous reste un peu de place dans votre sac à dos? Mettez-y une couverture pliable qui saura vous garder au chaud en cas de forte intempérie.

Une trousse de premiers soins format mini pourrait vous être très utile. Créez la vôtre vous-mêmes ou procurez-vous-en une toute prête en pharmacie ou dans les magasins de sports et de plein air.

Assurez-vous avant de partir que votre téléphone est bien chargé si vous comptez l’utiliser comme GPS. Sinon, apportez une boussole et une carte des sentiers que vous prévoyez visiter.

Où aller marcher

Le mont Orford, voisin direct de l’Espace 4 Saisons, est bien sûr tout indiqué pour aller y pratiquer la randonnée pédestre. Vue époustouflante, circuit de passerelles sur pilotis, belvédères : tout y est pour une expérience de plein air extraordinaire. Consultez la carte des sentiers ici et préparez-vous à partir à l’aventure!

Plutôt du type randonnée familiale? Direction le Marais de la Rivière-aux-Cerises à Magog. Vous y trouverez plus de cinq kilomètres de sentiers sur pilotis ou sur gravier facilement accessibles. Le saviez-vous? Le marais possède l’un des plus longs sentiers sur pilotis du Québec (1,2 km de la piste est sur pilotis!)

©Marais de la Rivière aux Cerises

Envie de partir découvrir les nombreux confins de notre belle et grande région? Consultez le site de Tourisme Cantons-de-l’Est, où vous y trouverez toutes les randonnées possibles : Orford, Bromont, Coaticook, Lac-Mégantic, Sherbrooke, Granby et plus encore!

Se ressourcer

Après un effort physique aussi grand, mieux vaut prendre le temps de se reposer ensuite. Le corps en aura bien besoin afin de ne pas être trop endolori.

Premier arrêt : le jacuzzi et la piscine intérieure/extérieure de l’Espace 4 Saisons. Vous pourrez relaxer vos muscles tout en appréciant la vue sur la montagne.

Besoin d’un peu plus de soins? Direction le spa esthétique Dôme de Morphée, situé à même le complexe hôtelier. Offrez-vous un massage relaxant et réduisant les tensions musculaires ou même un soin exfoliant. De quoi vous remettre sur pied en un rien de temps!

S’inspirer pour sa prochaine randonnée

Voir des photos de paysages à couper le souffle sur ses réseaux sociaux, ça donne envie d’aller prendre l’air! Suivez les superbes comptes Mel Bertrand, 4000hikes et Mont-Orford afin d’inspirer votre prochaine sortie en forêt.

Autres actualités

10 avril 2024

Les meilleures recommandations de l’équipe du Bistro 4 Saisons

Personne ne connaît mieux la superbe région des Cantons-de-l’Est que nos équipes. On y habite, on y travaille, on y vit. C’est pourquoi nous avons…

Lire plus →
29 janvier 2024

Profiter de l’hiver comme Miha Fontaine

Comment est-ce qu’un athlète olympique hivernal profite des joies de la saison froide dans les Cantons-de-l’Est? C’est ce qu’on a voulu savoir en s’entretenant avec…

Lire plus →
11 décembre 2023

Cuisiner le foie gras avec Pierre Nief

Le chef du Bistro 4 Saisons, Pierre Nief, est d’origine française. Pour lui, le foie gras est un produit festif et réconfortant qui s’apprête de…

Lire plus →
Réserver

Réservez ici